Pattern Divisions

Solid Division – Cats that are one solid color and do not have any stripes, spots, ticking, white, or silvering. Ragdolls are not a solid color all over.

Colorpoint /Pointed Division – Color is only seen on the mask, ears, paws and tail. Those points can be solid or tabby. All colors can be seen in the Pointed, Solid Point, Tortie Point, Lynx Point, and Particolor Point Divisions. 
All Ragdolls are pointed. 

Lynx Division – Tabby markings in the point color, pencil lines on the face and white eye liner.

Tortie Division – Two solid colors blended in a random together in a random manner  (usually female).

Torbie Division – Two colors with a tabby pattern (usually female).

Particolor Division – Exhibits the white spotting factor (with the exception of lockets), regardless of the amount of white or basic background color.  The Ragdoll is carefully bred to produce pleasing patterns of white markings.

The Particolor division recognizes two separate levels of white in the Ragdolls:

  • Mitted – White mittens.
  • Bi-colour – White and one other color (white inverted “v”, belly and all four legs).

Cat Colors

Cats come in two primary colors: black and red. White hides/masks – all other color. A solid white cat is genetically either black or red but the color is hidden by the white gene.

All other colors are variations of black—which can change to variations of grey (blue, lilac) or variations of brown (chocolate, cinnamon, fawn, lilac or seal) and red—which can change to cream (variations of orange, rust, marmalade, yellow, ginger, flame). The most common colors of cats are black, blue, red, and cream.

The accepted Ragdoll color pallet consists of blue, chocolate, cinnamon, fawn, lilac, seal, red and cream along with the tortoiseshell and lynx/tabby variations. 

%d bloggers like this: